“Show me the hungry, Lord”

Standard

hunger_pasta

A while back, I had heard God’s voice in my heart say, “Go to the hungry.” I remember thinking at the time, “Well, what does that mean? The physically hungry? The spiritually hungry? Both?”

Today I recalled that, and as I am trying hard to hear and obey the Holy Spirit, I said, “God, show me the hungry. I don’t know who they are so please show me.” At the Manor I was speaking with a woman who told me that she has no food right now. She has been eating a lot of pasta because it’s something that doesn’t cost a lot. She said that she isn’t sure how she is going to eat for the next 3 weeks.  I watched her load up a plate of extra sandwiches to take home with her.

And then it hit me: God was answering my prayer – He was showing me the hungry. In this case it is obviously physical hunger.

Then the question became what am I going to do with that?

God brought to mind the words of a woman at a retreat when she said that we need to intercede, but we also have to become the answer to the prayer. God needs hands and feet … and that is us.

I was struck because just 40 minutes earlier, I had prayed that God would show me the hungry… and the answer to my prayer was obvious. The next part is up to me. Will I willingly become the answer to the prayer?

 

Your thoughts?

