Retreat

Standard

The other day I was feeling spent. I was scheduled to head to a place where I need to be ready to minister. They need “all hands on deck” there and I’m one of the deck hands. Earlier in the morning I had expressed to my husband that I was feeling tired and ready to just quit all my commitments. Just take a break from all the ‘yes’s that I handle and just say ‘no’. Sometimes, that’s ok. In fact, just this morning I read this Scripture:

“Then, because so many people were coming and going that they did not even have a chance to eat, Jesus said to them, “Come with me by yourselves to a quiet place and get some rest”.

Jesus tells the disciples that they need to retreat to a quiet place with him and get some rest.

P1070571

Aaaahhhhhh…..

Jesus knows that we can be wearied by all the busy comings and goings. He knows that we can get tired of all the commitments we juggle. He knows some of us just can get tired being around a crowd of people all day. (Introvert alert!)

I don’t know whether or not in this passage Jesus is speaking of a need to eat physical food, (I imagine yes…) but this morning I saw it as my need for spiritual food. Summer has a different rhythm. It seems that every week is different and there are always little people with big voices around me. I have found it difficult to set aside time to eat with Jesus. Just to be with him, in a quiet place. To rest. From him I receive daily bread. When I don’t get it, I begin to feel weak, disoriented and unsure of my mission. I begin to be mired in thoughts that are not important and I dwell on things that are not productive.

And suddenly I find myself tired out and needing refreshing. And that’s when I hear Jesus whispering,

“Come with me by yourself to a quiet place and get some rest.”

 “Yes,” I whisper in return, “that sounds just about right.”

2 responses »

  1. As I read your comments I was reminded, again, of how we get all wrapped up in all that’s going on that we have no time to kneel and rest and the fount of blessings…..where we are refreshed and can carry on reaching out with the hands of God that allow those in need to feel His love in a way that they can actually ‘reach out and touch.’ Thank you for sharing.

Your thoughts?

