Spirit-led prayer

Standard

During a visit with a friend recently, right in the middle of the conversation I felt quite sad. I felt like getting down on my knees and praying right there, but thought my friend might think ‘that’s kinda weird!’ It is kinda weird! Why would I feel like that suddenly? And not wanting to appear rude right in the middle of the conversation (!!) I suppressed the urge that I had to fall on my knees.

confusedSometimes at church, or in other ‘religious’ settings, I have had a similar feeling, but I would describe it more like a feeling of agitation in my spirit. But I didn’t really know what to do with it. I would usually try to figure out what brought the feeling on. I would talk to others. I would think about it, I would reflect, introspect, dissect. All for naught. The answer wouldn’t be clear. I would usually forget about it until it occurred again and then, once again, I would go through several hours of pondering and thinking about it. To be honest, I would feel bothered by it because I just couldn’t understand it.

For many years now I have had experiences that I didn’t quite understand like that. Some clarity was shed last night when a friend emailed about her experience and discovery of ‘travailling prayer‘. If you wish to understand more about it, this link sheds a lot of light. 🙂

So I have now discovered that when I feel those emotions in my heart and my spirit, it is a call to pray. Even though I may not understand what, or who, I am praying for, I am simply to be obedient and to allow the Spirit to pray through me. I spent time this morning on my knees in prayer…. and it was the most astonishing, amazing, incredible experience of prayer with the Spirit.

In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us through wordless groans. And he who searches our hearts knows the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for God’s people in accordance with the will of God.   Rom.8:26-27

 

8 responses »

  1. Our pastor talked about this last night … oftentimes that prompting or agitation of the Spirit is more about trying and testing our faith than it is about the object of our attention. This week I had a prompting to call a brother in Christ … I have been trying to reach him for over a month without success … so I fought it for 15-30 minutes. But the Spirit was unrelenting … so I surrendered and called him … he only lives about 20 minutes from me here in the greater Atlanta, GA area. And I was in shock when he answered the phone … and even more shocked when he revealed he was in Hawaii on vacation with His family. After I got off the phone I was struck with these questions, “Will you follow where I lead? Will you do what I ask?” Good post!

    • I wanted to understand what you meant by the “prompting or agitation being more about trying and testing our faith than about the object of our attention”… can you explain more? Thanks! 🙂

      • In the example our pastor used he was prompted by the Spirit to go and pray for a flight attendant in the midst of the flight … he fought the urge for sometime and then finally submitted … and as he stood with her and prayed with her he could sense the awkwardness of the situation and how she was really uncomfortable being prayed for … his conclusion was that in this encounter it was more important for him to say yes to the prompting of the Spirit than it was for her to be prayed for. Hope that helps … thanks for the follow-up.

      • Thanks for clarifying! I struggle a lot with trying to follow the Spirit’s leading and yet being too concerned with what others will think. I know that obedience is more important but it’s a struggle for me sometimes to step over that “chicken line”.

  2. I am happy to hear you got the answer from a friend. That is just what you have been experiencing. Your spirit is sensitive to the Holy Spirit. Keep listening to what He tells you.

  3. Pingback: Weeping for a mother in India | Heart Murmurs

Your thoughts?

