Divine appointments in a parking lot

Standard

bigstock_Lost_And_Confused_Signpost_29561771

I find myself in a new place these days. An unexpected place. A place that doesn’t feel very comfortable or familiar… yet. Big decisions were made a few weeks ago that shook my foundations and caused many questions and doubts.              {And tears too, I might add.}

Yesterday after the requisite run to the grocery store, I pushed my cart along the walkway towards the van. As I passed a restaurant, two women exited. It turns out that I knew one of them so we stopped to chat.

After the preliminary ‘how are you’s’, she asked me point blank, “So, what’s God been doing in your life lately?”

If there was a soundtrack for my answer, it would sort of sound like shattering glass and mountains shaking and a howling wind all at the same time.

I was honest: “I have no idea right now”

I shared a little bit about the large change that has recently occurred in my life and how I feel lost and on uncertain ground.

Instead of expressing concerned, brow-knitted, sympathetic “Oh, I’m sorry to hear that”, both women expressed a feeling of excitement. They both seemed to share this anticipatory excitement about me being in this new place, and how God could be  is working.

“Well, I’m glad you’re excited, ’cause… I’m not quite there yet…” I admitted, with my tremulous voice betraying my underlying confusion and emotion.

They offered to pray with me, right there on the sidewalk in front of the restaurant.

So as passerby walked around us, and as other shoppers pushed grocery carts on by, these two women lifted me up in prayer. One of them had this verse for me from Proverbs:

Trust in the Lord your God with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him and he will make your paths straight.

Earlier that morning I had read another verse about trust. So, what does it mean to trust with all my heart? Am I trusting with my entire heart, or is there a part of my heart that isn’t quite all there? And I can totally relate to not leaning on my own understanding: I have none right now. I have no wisdom about recent events that led to major changes. I can only hope that in spending time with God, that He will reveal to me what I need to know.

The other woman had a picture in her heart that she shared. It was a beautiful picture of Jesus, with his arm around my shoulder, and his other hand holding my hand, gently guiding me. She reassured me that Jesus is right beside me.

I know that to be true.

This is what else I know:  God is good. And not just some of the time.  All.of.the.time.  No matter what storm is raging on around me, He is good. I stand reassured in the knowledge of His incredible love for me. And His word promises that His plans are to prosper me and not to harm me, that he plans to give me hope and a future (Jer.29:11).

As I continued on my way to the van, my heart felt lighter. God knew that I needed some encouragement yesterday. I didn’t know that it would occur in a busy parking lot with my frozen grocery items thawing slightly in the bright morning sun, but I’m sure glad God coordinated it so perfectly.

3 responses »

  1. I love how those ladies offered to pray with you right there–“where two or three are gathered together in my name,there am I in the midst of them.” Matthew 18:20. Being with Jesus will lift our spirits!

  2. Pingback: The blessing of letting go and ‘letting God’ | Heart Murmurs

Your thoughts?

