Hope in the midst of struggle

Standard

There is something that I love about raw honesty. The pure, raw truth, no matter how ugly it might be. I have faced much struggle in my heart this summer and have not been posting as I try to process and understand and pray through what is going on.

Today I was able to talk with a friend, openly and honestly, about what has been going on in my heart. It was pure freedom to be able to share without being afraid of being judged. Her kind heart and gentle, yet bold questions enabled me to breathe a sigh of relief of a sort. (I hope that when you are struggling, that you have someone as gracious and as loving to listen to you, too!)

Perhaps you are struggling right now…as I have been. It is sometimes hard to admit that struggle. We live in a world that values the outer appearance, that values the strong, the amazing, the victorious, the ‘winner’. If you feel less than that, well, you can certainly join my club. 😉  I belong to the club that doesn’t feel victorious all the time, nor amazing, nor even very strong…

I was blessed this week by some of Oswald Chambers’ words: At the foundation of Jesus Christ’s kingdom is the genuine loveliness of those who are commonplace. I am truly blessed in my poverty. If I have no strength of will and a nature without worth then Jesus says to me, “Blessed are you, because it is through your poverty that you can enter my kingdom”

In the upside down kingdom of Christ, those who are poor, those who are lowly, those who are commonplace, well, we are the ones who get to rejoice. We are invited with open arms by Jesus, to join him in his kingdom.

In the song that my friend sent to me, I was also blessed today by John Piper’s words that are spliced into the middle. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qyUPz6_TciY          

For those of us finding ourselves in the middle of struggle currently, this is for us:

Therefore, we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day. For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all. So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.    2 Cor.4:16-18

And from Piper’s sermon, “Therefore, do not lose heart. But take these truths and day by day focus on them. Preach them to yourself every morning. Get alone with God and preach his Word into your mind until your heart sings with confidence that you are new and cared for. “

Beautifully said.

 

One response »

Your thoughts?

