Failing at love… again

Standard

Before I had it hung on the wall, I had messed up… twice. At least. P1080260

Our pastor had preached on it this past Sunday. He implored us to read over the passage and then choose one, just one element to work on this week. The passage is so familiar that most of us could probably recite it in our sleep.

“Love is patient, love is kind…”

Yes, that amazing passage of Scripture, about love, in 1Cor 13.

So. I decided that it might help me to remember if I had it in front of my face daily, maybe somewhere on a wall. But as I was typing out the passage, (not before, nor after) but during the typing of one of the most quoted passages about love, I lost my temper at one of my children.

P1080261

“Love is patient…”

The line stood out to me, and then blurred in front of my eyes…

Love is patient.

I am not.

My first thought was disappointment, in how I fail… daily. In how God must be disappointed in seeing me lose my patience again. But really, self-condemnation is not helpful. What is the point of berating oneself for the failure? That is where the enemy would love for me to stay, in those obsessive, defeated thoughts about how “I lose it…” or how “I’m just not good enough…”

Instead, I use it as a springboard into the realization that yes, this is a good reminder about why I need a Saviour. I must rely on Jesus to give me the patience that I need because I cannot find it on my own, within myself. My buttons are pushed in the daily grind. Pushed hard, it seems. Or else, my buttons are way too easy to push and they cave under the slightest provocation. (Yes, that’s probably more in line with the truth…. lol!)

I think I know which quality I will be focussing on this week….

Lord Jesus, forgive me for losing my patience…. again.  I so wish to be more like You. I want to be the embodiment of Love. Please strengthen my inner spirit today. I know that my spirit, joined with yours, is full of patience, kindness, gentleness, longsuffering, joy and peace.

2 responses »

  1. I Corinthians 13 is one of my favorite passages, I blogged on it myself and came up with a renewed understanding that it’s not for just marriage relationships, but relationships in general. It has the elements of what being life giving is all about. It’s the best definition of unconditional love I have ever seen other than Jesus dying on the cross for us. Great post. 🙂

Your thoughts?

