Hanging on to the promise of spring

Standard

Mid-April. It’s been officially spring for 3 weeks now. A full three weeks. The past three weeks here have been cold, rainy, blustery and there have even been school and flight cancellations due to an ice storm.

We are waiting.  {impatiently waiting?!}  We are awaiting the sun… the warmer breaths of those sweet breezes that speak of a new season. So far, it hasn’t felt like spring in the least.

icestorm

But does this mean it is not spring?

I think we humans often rely on our senses or emotions to tell us what is true. According to my eyes this past week, would I have believed it to be spring? When I witnessed the lashing ice and snow and broken branches? When I couldn’t see the little plants reaching up out of the earth for the snow that covered their little heads? According to my ears, the wind sounded wintery. And according to the feel of the cold wind on my face, I would not have thought ‘spring’. My senses told me it was still winter.

Yet, what is the truth?

The truth is: it is spring.

No matter what our senses tell us or what our feelings tell us, the truth remains.

So why is it that we rationalize God, that we limit God, that we even judge God based on our feelings and our emotions?  Even when it is supposed to be spring, and it feels like winter, we are to hang on to what we know is true. Because there is a bigger Truth.

Let me give you an example. When we are children, we learn the song Jesus Loves Me. We believe it. We know it to be true – Jesus does love us! Of course He does! Why wouldn’t he? And then, somehow over the years we internalize other messages. We are hurt, we stumble, we mess up, and we think, “Wow. How can Jesus love me? I’m such a screw up! I’m not walking with Him anymore. He can’t love me….”

Do you know what the Bible says?  Rom.8:37-38 says  “For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus”   Not only that, but if you look at the Bible as a whole, you will see that the entire thing is the story of a loving God, desperately trying to speak to humans, to reach out to us, to let us know He is there, and finally, to provide His own Son as a sacrifice so that we can be brought back to a restored relationship with Him.

I just got back from a walk. Around me I saw evidence of the new season: brave little flowers pushing up out of the cold earth, birds singing from the tops of trees, advertising their beauty and strength, birds carrying twigs and grasses to build nests, and buds on trees. The birds and the plants are behaving according to the truth.

I think I can learn something from them.

3 responses »

  1. I love this post! It reminds me so much from what a friend and I were talking about. In order to understand God and get closer to him we need to kill god. It’s not exactly killing him, but killing who we think he is. He is so much more than we can imagine. There is a verse in the Bible that has just been explained to me – “Perfect love casts out fear” Well, in biblical days that word perfect did not mean without defect, it actually meant mature. (And I am going somewhere with this so please forgive me for the lengthy response) So, MATURE LOVE casts out fear. Let me back up a sec, If we take the word perfect as without defect today, we automatically believe that God is the only one who can love us perfectly, and if we have fear we must have done something wrong, or we’re not as close to God as we had thought etc etc.

    But let’s look at MATURE LOVE. An example would be little Johnny who is 4 years old. He asks his mom for a cookie. His mom gives him a cookie and he replies, “oh boy oh boy! mommy you are the bestest mommy in the whole world. I love you so much!” Another time 5 minutes before meal time the 4 year old Johnny asks his mom for a cookie, but this time she refuses because it’s so close to dinner. She may even tell Johnny that it’s too close to dinner. This time Johnny responds negatively, “I hate you mommy, you are the worst mommy in the world.” Later when Johnny is about 10 asks his mom for a cookie she says no because it’s close to dinner, Johnny responds “OK mom” and continues on whatever he was doing.

    The difference between the two ages is that 4 year old johnny is afraid that his mom no longer loves him because his mom is saying no and not giving him the cookie. As Johnny ages, he realizes that it’s out of love that his mom is saying no. And his mom knows what’s best for him.

    As we grow in our relationship with God we develop a mature love with him, so when things don’t go our own way we still know he’s there loving us. We begin to understand that it doesn’t matter how we feel, or what happens around us that God still loves us!

    • That’s it Darby!! Great example with little Johnny too. It’s so true! God is WAY bigger than anything we think and His Love is WAY more than we can even comprehend. I am learning to trust the promises of Scripture in order to combat my sometimes negative thinking patterns. Keep hanging onto those truths!! xo

      • Right now I am reading a really excellent book that has been helping me expand my understanding of who God REALLY is. It’s called “The Shack Revisited” It’s the theology behind “The Shack” If you haven’t read the shack first, i’d suggest you read it first!! But it’s opening my eyes!! 🙂

Your thoughts?

