Member of the Body

Standard

As we worshipped yesterday at church I was so thankful for this corporate body of Christ that we belong to. The friendly faces, the waves, the smiles, the hugs, the conversations over coffee. We are truly blessed to be part of such a community.

This week the truth I will embrace is:    I am a member of Christ’s Body

BodyofChrist

Again, I ask God, what does it mean that I am your body, and what is my part in it? What is my role? Just as the eyes, the nose, the hands have roles to play, what role do I play in the body? Because as surely as koinonia is part of God’s plan for His body, the Church, I think that there is more to it than that. There is more to it than just getting ourselves fed.

What is the role of the body of Christ in our world? To serve others, to reach out and to touch others with the Love that is embodied in God. God is Love. Therefore, as his body, are we not to ‘be’ love as well? To be the tangible Jesus-with-skin-on to our neighbours, to our family, to our friends, and to the strangers that we cross paths with? To be light in the darkness.

And how do we accomplish this?

I feel as if I cannot do this on my own. And that’s just it!  I cannot.

Jesus said, “I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit. Apart from me you can do nothing.”   (Jn.15:5)

Apart from Jesus, I can do nothing. We must be connected to the vine, the source of life. I can only be love for others when I allow myself to be that living vessel through which God can pour His love. Then, and only then, can His love truly touch others.

Your thoughts?

