Normalizing ‘radical’

Standard

There is a woman that I know who inspires me; she inspires me because when I look at her all I see, is love. It’s as if love just shines out through her eyes when she looks at you, and covers you when she speaks. She shared a story recently that blew me out of the water. It involved an incredible story of healing and … angels. (Yes, a real, live angel!) Now what you need to know about this woman is that many people call her “radical”. Some might even label her “weird”. She shrugs off the labels and does what she knows she must: seeks God with all her heart, all her mind, all her strength. She tells me that she simply lives in the Spirit. And she is able to hear His voice.

This is what I want.

I want to shower others with Love with my words, and with my eyes. And I want to live so full of the Spirit that I can hear his voice, loud and clear. And to see miracles as daily events.

This friend of Jesus argues that what she has is the normal Christian life. That this is what we should expect to be like as Christians. That being full of love, full of the Spirit is the way we should all be walking.

Then why, all around me, do I not see this?

Oswald Chambers, in his book My Utmost for his Highest writes: ” When the Spirit fills us, we are transformed, and by beholding God we become mirrors. You can always tell when someone has been beholding the glory of the Lord, because your inner spirit senses that she mirrors the Lord’s own character. Beware of anything that would spot or tarnish that mirror in you. It is almost always something good that will stain it – something good, but not what is best. The most important rule for us is to concentrate on keeping our lives open to God. Let everything else including work, clothes, and food be set aside. The busyness of things obscures our concentration on God. We must maintain a position of beholding Him, keeping our lives completely spiritual through and through. Let other things come and go as they will; let other people criticize us as they will; but never allow anything to obscure the life that “is hidden with Christ in God” (Col.3:3). Never let a hurried lifestyle disturb the relationship of abiding in Him. This is an easy thing to allow, but we must guard against it. The most difficult lesson of the Christian life is learning how to continue “beholding as in a mirror the glory of the Lord…”

But whenever anyone turns to the Lord, the veil is taken away. Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom. And we, who with unveiled faces all reflect the Lord’s glory, are being transformed into his likeness with ever-increasing glory, which comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit.      2 Cor.3:16-18

I’m praying for a more radical faith. I’m asking to be transformed.

I want to know the Spirit and the freedom that the Spirit gives.

walkwithhimwednesdays2

3 responses »

  1. He satisfies the hungry ones. I think many stop short in their walk with Christ because they’re afraid to be uncomfortable and afraid of what other people will think. ultimately they don’t want to lose control of their life and “count the cost” as Jesus said. But I see the Lord stirring up a hunger to press in for more to many of those like yourself that already hear Him. Seek and you will find. Bless you!

  2. Very seldom will you find ideas like “radical” and “freedom” or “the freedom the Spirit gives” placed within the paradoxical context of responsibility. Responsibility is a really interesting context (sometimes good, sometimes not). When you enter into relationships, for example, you’ve definitely moved into the paradoxical context of responsibility. Radical / free / the freedom the Spirit gives and the paradoxical context of responsibility can have a very uneasy partnership. Take marriage, kids and friends, by way of example, by and large, no one there really wants you to change and certainly not to be transformed (as this would be far too disruptive). Besides that, interestingly, you’ve already been transformed… you don’t survive marriage, parenthood and friendship without transformation… who you are is not who you were in so many different ways.

    Perhaps what you are hinting at here is that past transformations aren’t quite what you were hoping for, so maybe some new transformations would be more helpful. I know for myself, on the paradoxical end, I’d like transformation without any responsibility whatsoever… that sounds like a mighty fine thing to me… the trouble is I seem to keep finding responsibility and worse still, being responsible (it can be quite discouraging at times).

    The “mirror” thing probably is a good idea but in the paradoxical context of responsibility it’s probably going to get a bit smudged by jam, cookie dough, bills and laundry from time to time (and lots of other outworkings of love that come with responsibility). To me, you seem to be a pretty transformed person already… caring, intelligent, giving, accepting appropriate responsibility etc. Is it at all possible that you already have what you want… but maybe just need to make a little internal shift to embrace and fully enjoy that? Honestly, I don’t know the answer to that… the older I get the less I seem to really know (answers just aren’t as interesting as they used to be… but questions… they’ve become a lot more interesting over the years). Your writing usually leads me to some good questions.

    Once again, thanks for sharing your thoughts!

Your thoughts?

