Child of God

Standard

I admit it, I have a memory problem.  I often forget, on a daily basis, about the goodness of God. Sometimes it’s even a moment by moment basis, where I can be thankful to God one minute, and in the next minute I am angry at something that has suddenly happened. I forget that He has showered me with blessings and gifts.  Sometimes my frustration or anger can begin a nasty downward spiral where I find myself sinking lower and lower into discouragement.

On Saturday a friend reminded me of the importance of “renewing my mind”.

Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is – his good, perfect and pleasing will.  (Rom.12:2)

Yes! What a fantastic way to begin the new year! So I have resolved to work on this. But, how? How do we renew our minds?

Through the word of God. Hebrews 4:12 says that Scripture, the word of God is “living and active”.

I wasn’t sure how or where to begin, but I decided to start with who I am in Christ, using some information from Neil Anderson‘s resources. I decided that I would ponder one truth each week in order to let the truth sink deep into my heart and spirit.

Truth for the week:  I am God’s child

Yet to all who did receive him, to those who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God.  (John 1:12, NIV)

But whoever did want him, who believed he was who he claimed, and would do what he said, He made to be their true selves, their child-of-God selves. (John 1:12, The Message)

Lord, I pray that you would speak to each one of us about this truth. Embed it deep in our hearts, help us to understand what it truly means to be your precious, beloved child.

Related Posts:

http://www.bible-knowledge.com/renewing-of-your-mind/

Christ’s Friend

Justified

8 responses »

  1. I love the idea of renewing our minds for 2013. I am rereading the Word of God this year as a way to renew my mind and remind me of how awesome our God is.

  2. I’m struggling with the same thing. This year is one of new ground for me, new ground in Christ. I often find myself wondering and praying about how to really bring everything to Him. What it really means to be a child of God. Something just came to me about foster parents. There are some adoptive and foster parents that take in the at risk youth and children. The ones that are too difficult for anyone else to handle. I admire those parents so much because they commit to love those children and love them unconditionally no matter what. That’s what I think being God’s child means. No one else can handle our mistakes our sin – yet he loved and loves us while we were are are sinning.

    A song came to mind when I saw your post, and I’d love to share it with you.

    Child of God – by Vineyard

    And Romans 12:1-2 in the message
    “So here’s what I want you to do, God helping you: Take your everyday, ordinary life—your sleeping, eating, going-to-work, and walking-around life—and place it before God as an offering. Embracing what God does for you is the best thing you can do for him. Don’t become so well-adjusted to your culture that you fit into it without even thinking. Instead, fix your attention on God. You’ll be changed from the inside out. Readily recognize what he wants from you, and quickly respond to it. Unlike the culture around you, always dragging you down to its level of immaturity, God brings the best out of you, develops well-formed maturity in you.”

    Thanks for the inspiration and encouragement to keep learning and understanding what it means to be HIS child!

  3. Pingback: Radical « Heart Murmurs

  4. Pingback: Christ’s Friend « Heart Murmurs

Your thoughts?

