Worship as a daily attitude

Standard

Worship.

What do you think of when you hear that word?

Organ music? Hymns? Contemporary worship songs? Guitars and drums? Hearing a 300-voice choir?

Or maybe a place comes to mind? A church, a small group setting at a friends’ house, or a dock on a Muskoka lake, praising the Creator as you enjoy a beautiful sunrise?

Or perhaps a special time –  the morning when you spend some time with God before the day blasts you with tasks, your evening run time when you have a few moments to breathe in the cool air and think and pray about your day?

Yesterday I had the privilege of attending a conference about worship. And I had the pleasure of hearing Brian Doerkson speak. What a lovely, lovely heart this man has. A humble heart. A heart that has known suffering. A heart focused on God.

I’ve been reading a book of late in which the author touched on the idea of ‘worship’ and its definition. I felt a bit confused while reading. But yesterday things were clarified for me as I listened to Brian and to a few other speakers. {yay! happy dance!}

I think that my problem is that my definition of worship was quite limited. It is related to the fact that we call church on Sunday ‘the worship service’. When we are invited to stand and sing, we are invited to ‘worship God’. Songs we sing are called ‘worship songs’. Hence, my definition had been influenced by the vocabulary that is often used to describe elements of a church service. I had limited the act of worship to a particular place, a particular time and a particular set of things that we do in that environment.

What I learned yesterday is that worship is not songs or music, it is not a place or an event. And it is not just limited to the sacred or the spiritual. Although these are all elements of worship, it is not the full picture. And from the Word of God:

So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.       1 Cor.10:31

Do all to the glory of God. All.  Like, everything!

I attended a seminar led by a pastor and worship leader, Jody Cross. He outlined more about a lifestyle of worship. He states that worship is a choice, and that it is a choice by faith. We are to worship when things are good, when things are bad and God seems absent, when we are suffering and when we don’t understand circumstances. How do we do this? By spending time with God and in His Word and by asking for God’s Spirit to enable us to live as the best example of Jesus wherever we find ourselves in our day.

Here are a couple of “sound bytes” that I picked up yesterday from his presentation that really resonated:

Worship is loving God in the details of life.

Worship is our response to God, for who He is and what He has done expressed in and by the things we say and the way that we live.    – Louie Giglio

Worship doesn’t end when the music stops; worship is more about what happens when the music stops.

An interesting fact that I learned from him was the very first time that the word ‘worship’ occurs in the Bible. It is found in Gen.22:5 when Abraham is going to sacrifice his only son Isaac as the Lord had asked him to. He explained that obedience could be considered the highest expression of worship. In light of that example, we can pray daily “Lord, how can I obey you today?“. This is worship!

A-mazing.

Everything I do, every word I utter, every decision I make to love someone, or to ignore someone I meet during my daily tasks, this is worship. Worship is my daily attitude.

I would like to leave you with a few words from Brian Doerkson:

Worship is the surrender of our hearts to the love of God.  It is the act of trusting God and the act of surrendering all, trusting God to provide for us.

Will you surrender to God, the Creator who named each star above? Will you trust God and give to Him everything? Will you trust that God will provide for you, as He promises in His Word?

Will you worship?

This link is why I decided to reblog this post: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sikZ6PIgvPI&list=RD03SakvGDYd82U

Please check out what this woman says in the first few minutes….

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: Worship as a daily attitude « Heart Murmurs | Harp and Bowl Worship

  2. Pingback: The Church is within us « Prayer Works Cafe

  3. Pingback: WHAT A GREAT DAY FOR ME « ALTHEYRIGHT'S COLLECTION OF SIMPLE THOUGHTS

  4. Reblogged this on Heart Murmurs and commented:

    I had the opportunity to stumble across the link at the bottom of this post and I thought, “Yes! That is it!”. If you get tired of reading my words, head down to the youtube link and watch the first few minutes…. 🙂

Your thoughts?

