Awaiting God

Standard

Oh God, you are …. profound mystery.

My thoughts are not your thoughts, your ways are not my ways.   (Is.55:8)

This is what makes things so hard sometimes… not understanding the larger picture.

Some dear ones wait right now, Lord. Some have been told that You will heal… that God wants to heal them.

Praise the Lord, O my soul, and forget not all his benefits – who forgives all your sins and heals all your diseases… (Ps.103:2,3)

And yet they wait…. in pain.

God, why?? Why must they wait? You can heal. You do heal. I have seen it. I have experienced it.

How long must they wait? Why can they not have their miracle?

And as they wait for You to touch them, how long are they willing to wait before they turn their back, thinking that you have not heard their desperate pleas for your mercy… ?

I know that You hear. What stays Your mighty hand, Oh Lord?

Perhaps this is too simplistic, but I just watched my 5 yr old son run like wild across the yard, dragging a triangular-shaped piece of paper attached to a red piece of yarn. He believed his “kite” would fly. He entered the house, disappointed. As an observer, I knew that his little kite would not fly. The conditions were not right: the wind was not high, the triangle not made of flight-worthy material, the yarn would have been a bit heavy for its purpose. Is this like us? We come to God, expecting our kite to fly, expecting our prayers for healing to be answered, and yet there are things preventing the flying (and the healing)? And we, in our limited wisdom and insight, cannot see why the kite cannot fly? Perhaps.

Things are never black and white.

And the truth is, our God is the God of the impossible! (Matt.19:26)

On behalf of those who wait, who are in pain, awaiting your touch… will you not answer, Lord? Please don’t let them feel abandoned in their struggle. Meet them in their situation. Let them know of Your powerful presence.

I wait for the Lord, my soul waits, and in his word I put my hope. My soul waits for the Lord more than watchmen wait for the morning, more than watchmen wait for the morning…    (Ps.130: 5,6)

Related posts: Peeling and Journeys

Your thoughts?

