When the wave of anxiety threatens to engulf you…

Standard

This past Sunday evening, as I perused the week looming ahead of me, I felt my heart quicken – not with excitement –

but that all-too-familiar visitor:   a n x i e t y

(Again?)

On Monday morning I was fortunate enough to have some time with my tea, my candle and with Jesus before I was swarmed with the daily tasks of mothering.

In that quiet moment, I asked God to give me a Scripture to hang onto that day, that I could repeat if I found myself overwhelmed by any waves of anxiety during the day.

2 Cor.12:9   But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.”

What a perfect verse – short and sweet – yet powerful. Powerful enough to combat that wave of anxiety that threatens to crash over me.

Paul continues: “Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.”

Zing. Just what I needed to hear. My heart rested easy in those words. His power, made perfect in weakness. When I am weak, then I am strong: He becomes my strength. I breathed a sigh of relief.

And anxiety fled, in the face of God’s word.

Rom.8:26  In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groans that words cannot express. And he who searches our hearts know the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for the saints in accordance with God’s will. 

Zing. Thank goodness! I’ve got the Holy Spirit praying for me??!?

What could be better than that?

So when you are faced with that wave of fear, or anxiety, try to pick a short verse that you can repeat. Let’s fight the darkness with the light of God’s word.

“Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be the glory… forever and ever!”          Eph.3:20

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: No God, Know Fear « My Takes

Your thoughts?

